MINUTES OF MECKLENBURG COUNTY BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS

NORTH CAROLINA MECKLENBURG COUNTY

The Board of Commissioners of Mecklenburg County, North Carolina, met in Formal Session in the Meeting Chamber of the Charlotte-Mecklenburg Government Center at 6:00 p.m. on Monday, December 1, 2008.

ATTENDANCE

Present: Chairman Jennifer Roberts and Commissioners

Karen Bentley, Dumont Clarke, Harold Cogdell, Jr.

Neil Cooksey, George Dunlap, Bill James

Vilma Leake and Daniel Murrey County Manager Harry L. Jones, Sr. County Attorney Marvin A. Bethune Clerk to the Board Janice S. Paige

Absent: None.

CALL TO ORDER - SWEARING-IN CEREMONY

County Manager Harry L. Jones, Sr. called the Swearing-In Ceremony for the 2008-2010 Mecklenburg Board of County Commissioners to order.

County Manager Jones presided until the election of a temporary chairman.

INVOCATION

Dr. Gregory K. Moss, Sr., Pastor of Saint Paul Baptist Church gave the Invocation.

PRESENTATION OF COLORS

The Mecklenburg County Sheriff's Office Color Guard conducted the presentation of colors, which was followed by the Pledge of Allegiance to the Flag.

OATHS OF OFFICE, BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS

The Oaths of Office were administered by the Honorable Lisa Bell, District Court Judge, 26th Judicial District, State of North Carolina, to the following persons who were elected to the Mecklenburg Board of County Commissioners in the general election held November 4, 2008 for a two-year term expiring Monday, December 1, 2010:

Jennifer Roberts, At-Large Daniel Murrey, At-Large Harold Cogdell, Jr., At-Large Karen Bentley, District 1 Vilma Leake, District 2 George Dunlap, District 3 Dumont Clarke, District 4 Neil Cooksey, District 5 Bill James, District 6

ELECTION OF TEMPORARY CHAIRMAN

County Manager Jones called for nominations for the election of a Temporary Chairman.

Commissioner Roberts nominated Commissioner Dumont Clarke for appointment as Temporary Chairman, which was seconded by Commissioner James.

There were no other nominations.

Motion was made by Commissioner Dunlap seconded by Commissioner James and unanimously carried with Commissioners Bentley, Clarke, Cogdell, Cooksey, Dunlap, James, Leake, Murrey, and Roberts voting yes, to elect Commissioner Dumont Clarke, Temporary Chairman of the Mecklenburg County Board of Commissioners.

County Manager Jones turned the meeting over to Commissioner Clarke.

ELECTION OF CHAIRMAN

Acting Chairman Clarke called for nominations for the position of Chairman of the Mecklenburg Board of County Commissioners.

Commissioner Leake nominated Commissioner Jennifer Roberts for Chairman of the Mecklenburg County Board of Commissioners for a one-year term.

There were no other nominations.

Motion was made by Commissioner Leake, seconded by Commissioner James and unanimously carried with Commissioners Bentley, Clarke, Cogdell, Cooksey, Dunlap, James, Leake, Murrey, and Roberts voting yes, to elect Commissioner Jennifer Roberts, Chairman of the Mecklenburg County Board of Commissioners for a one-year term.

Note: The chairman serves for one-year and at the end of that first year, the election of a chairman for the remaining year of the two-year term of office is considered again by the Board.

Commissioner Clarke turned the meeting over to Chairman Roberts.

Chairman Roberts thanked the Board for its support.

ELECTION OF VICE-CHAIRMAN

Chairman Roberts called for nominations for the election of Vice-Chairman.

Commissioner Murrey nominated Commissioner Harold Cogdell, Jr. for Vice-Chairman of the Mecklenburg County Board of Commissioners for a one-year term.

There were no other nominations.

Motion was made by Commissioner Murrey, seconded by Commissioner James and unanimously carried with Commissioners Bentley, Clarke, Cogdell, Cooksey, Dunlap, James, Leake, Murrey, and Roberts voting yes, to elect Commissioner Harold Cogdell, Jr., Vice-Chairman of the Mecklenburg County Board of Commissioners for a one-year term.

Note: The vice-chairman serves for one-year and at the end of that first year, the election of a vice-chairman for the remaining year of the two-year term of office is considered again by the Board.

REMARKS

Commissioners made remarks in the following order:

Karen Bentley, District 1
Vilma Leake, District 2
George Dunlap, District 3
Dumont Clarke, District 4
Neil Cooksey, District 5
Bill James, District 6
Daniel Murrey, At-Large
Harold Cogdell, Jr., At-Large
Jennifer Roberts, At-Large

ADJOURNMENT

Motion was made by Commissioner James, seconded by Commissioner Cogdell and unanimously carried, with Commissioners Bentley, Clarke, Cogdell, Cooksey, Dunlap, James, Leake, Murrey, and Roberts voting yes, that there being no further business to come before the Board that the meeting be adjourned at 7:13 p.m.

Note: A reception followed in the Lobby of the Charlotte-Mecklenburg Government Center.	
Janice S. Paige, Clerk	Jennifer Roberts, Chairman