MINUTES OF MECKLENBURG COUNTY BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS

The Board of Commissioners of Mecklenburg County, North Carolina, met in Formal Session in the Meeting Chamber of the Charlotte-Mecklenburg Government Center, located at 600 East Fourth Street, Charlotte, N.C. at 6:00 p.m. on Monday, December 3, 2012.

ATTENDANCE

Present:Chairman Patricia Cotham and Commissioners Karen Bentley,
Dumont Clarke, George Dunlap, Trevor Fuller, Bill James,
Vilma Leake, Kim Ratliff and Matthew Ridenhour
County Manager Harry L. Jones, Sr.
County Attorney Marvin Bethune
Clerk to the Board Janice S. Paige

Absent: None

CALL TO ORDER - SWEARING-IN CEREMONY

County Manager Harry L. Jones, Sr. called the Swearing-In Ceremony for the 2012-2014 Mecklenburg County Board of Commissioners to order.

County Manager Jones presided until the election of a temporary chairman.

INVOCATION

Bishop George E. Battle, Jr., Senior Bishop, A.M.E. Zion Church gave the invocation.

PRESENTATION OF COLORS

The Mecklenburg County Sheriff's Office Color Guard conducted the presentation of colors, which was followed by the Pledge of Allegiance to the Flag.

OATHS OF OFFICE, BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS

The Oaths of Office were administered by the Honorable Lisa Bell, Chief District Court Judge, 26th Judicial District of NC to the following persons who were elected to the Mecklenburg County Board of Commissioners in the general election held November 6, 2012 for a two-year term expiring Monday, December 1, 2014:

Patricia Cotham, At-Large Kim Ratliff, At-Large Trevor Fuller, Jr., At-Large Karen Bentley, District 1 Vilma Leake, District 2 George Dunlap, District 3 Dumont Clarke, District 4 Matthew Ridenhour, District 5 Bill James, District 6

Copies of the Oaths are on file with the Clerk to the Board.

DECEMBER 3, 2012

Board members took their seats around the dais.

County Manager Jones congratulated Board members on their election to office. County Manager Jones said he and his staff looked forward to working with the Board.

ELECTION OF TEMPORARY CHAIRMAN

County Manager Jones called for nominations for the election of a Temporary Chairman, until such time that a permanent chairman was elected.

Motion was made by Commissioner Dunlap seconded by Commissioner Leake and unanimously carried with Commissioners Bentley, Clarke, Cotham, Dunlap, Fuller, James, Leake, Ratliff, and Ridenhour voting yes, to nominate/elect Commissioner Dumont Clarke as Temporary Chairman of the Mecklenburg County Board of Commissioners.

Note: No other nominations were made for the position of temporary chairman.

County Manager Jones turned the gavel over to Commissioner Dumont Clarke.

ELECTION OF CHAIRMAN

Temporary Chairman Dumont Clarke called for nominations for the election of Chairman of the Mecklenburg County Board of Commissioners for a one-year term expiring December 3, 2013.

Motion was made by Commissioner Dunlap, seconded by Commissioner Leake and unanimously carried with Commissioners Bentley, Clarke, Cotham, Dunlap, Fuller, James, Leake, Ratliff, and Ridenhour voting yes, to nominate/elect Commissioner Patricia "Pat" Cotham as Chairman of the Mecklenburg County Board of Commissioners for a one-year term, expiring December 3, 2013.

Note: No other nominations made for the position of chairman.

Commissioner Clarke turned the gavel over to Chairman Patricia "Pat" Cotham.

ELECTION OF VICE-CHAIRMAN

Chairman Patricia "Pat" Cotham called for nominations for the election of Vice-Chairman of the Mecklenburg County Board of Commissioners for a one-year term expiring December 3, 2013.

Motion was made by Commissioner Clarke, seconded by Commissioner Leake and unanimously carried with Commissioners Bentley, Clarke, Cotham, Dunlap, Fuller, James, Leake, Ratliff, and Ridenhour voting yes, to elect Commissioner Kim Ratliff as Vice-Chairman of the Mecklenburg County Board of Commissioners for a one-year term expiring, December 3, 2013.

Note: No other nominations were made for the position of vice-chairman.

<u>REMARKS</u>

Commissioners made remarks in the following order:

Commissioner Bill James, District 6 Commissioner George Dunlap, District 3 Commissioner Karen Bentley, District 1

Commissioner Matthew Ridenhour, District 5 Commissioner Dumont Clarke, District 4 Commissioner Vilma Leake, District 2 Vice Chairman Kim Ratliff, At-Large Commissioner Trevor Fuller, Jr., At-Large Chairman Patricia Cotham, At-Large

ADJOURNMENT

Motion was made by Commissioner Leake, seconded by Commissioner Clarke and unanimously carried, with Commissioners Bentley, Clarke, Cotham, Dunlap, Fuller, James, Leake, Ratliff, and Ridenhour voting yes, that there being no further business to come before the Board that the meeting be adjourned at 7:32 p.m.

Note: A reception followed in the Lobby of the Charlotte-Mecklenburg Government Center.

Janice S. Paige, Clerk

Patricia Cotham, Chairman