# MECKLENBURG - UNION TECHNICAL COORDINATING COMMITTEE Summary Meeting Minutes Charlotte-Mecklenburg Government Center Uptown Conference Room, 8<sup>th</sup> Floor February 5, 2009

**Voting Members:** Bill Coxe-Vice-chair (Huntersville), Norm Steinman – alt. for Danny Pleasant (CDOT), Jim Keenan (E&PM), Ken Tippette (CDOT), Jonathan Wells – alt. for Debra Campbell (CMPD), Jim Lloyd – alt. for Wayne Herron (Monroe), Leslie Rhodes (LUESA-Air Quality), David McDonald (MTC), Louis Mitchell – alt. for Barry Moose (NCDOT-Division 10), Jonathan Parker (NCDOT), Hemal Shah – alt. for Andrew Grant (Cornelius), Scott Kaufhold (Indian Trail), Bill Sherrill (Matthews), Lee Bailey (Mint Hill), Kevin Icard (Pineville), Shannon Martel - alt. for Brian Matthews – via phone (Stallings), Amy Helms (Union County)

**Staff:** Robert Cook (MUMPO), Stuart Basham (MUMPO), Crissy Huffstickler (CMPD), Tim Gibbs (CDOT), Andy Grzymski (CDOT), Eldewins Haynes (CDOT), Loretta Barren – via phone (FHWA), Craig Thomas (Indian Trail), Anna Whalen (Marvin), C.J. O'Neill (Matthews), Julie Clark (Meck Park & Recreation), Bjorn Hansen (Centralina COG), Dennis LaCaria (CMS), Jennifer Harris – via phone (NCTA), Reid Simons – via phone (NCTA), Van Argabright – via phone (NCDOT), Saxby Chaplin (Carolina Thread Trail)

**Guests:** Steve Blakley (Kimley-Horn), Carl Gibilaro (PBS&J), Eric Gorman (PBS&J), Adin McCann (HNTB), Todd Steiss (Parsons Brinckerhoff)

Mr. Coxe opened the meeting at 10:00 AM and explained that Wayne Herron would be taking a brief leave from the TCC due to being named Monroe's acting city manager.

#### 1. Consideration of January 2009 Minutes

Presenter: Bill Coxe

#### Summary/Requested Action:

Mr. Coxe asked the group of there were any changes to the January 2009 minutes. As there were no changes, the January 2009 minutes were approved unanimously by acclamation.

### 2. <u>Congestion Mitigation & Air Quality (CMAQ)</u>

#### Presenter: Bjorn Hansen

### Summary/Requested Action:

Mr. Hansen reminded the TCC that at its January meeting it recommended to the MPO that it support fast tracking three projects: Clean Air Works; GRADE: Grants to Reduce Aging Diesel Engines; US 521/Ballantyne Commons Parkway intersection. He informed the TCC that the MPO decided not to support the GRADE project for fast tracking. Instead, it supported the Mecklenburg-Union Clean School Bus Initiative. Mr. Hansen then discussed the CMAQ subcommittee meeting that took place prior to the TCC meeting. The purpose of that meeting was to select projects to be recommended to the TCC for funding with the funds remaining from the 2004 call for CMAQ projects and noted that the subcommittee recommended GRADE for funding due to it being the project with the most significant NOx reductions.

#### Motion:

Norm Steinman made a motion to recommend to the MPO that it approve the project list as submitted, with the modification that funding for the NC 115/David Cox Road intersection project be reduced and that the funds be applied to the McAlpine Creek Greenway project in order to fully fund it. Leslie Rhodes seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously.

## 3. <u>LRTP Development Schedule / Conformity</u>

#### Presenter: Norm Steinman

#### Summary/Requested Action:

Mr. Steinman gave an update on the schedule for completing an air quality-conforming LRTP. He reviewed recent correspondence between the US EPA and the NC Division of Air Quality (DAQ) concerning the EPA's recommendation for the DAQ to voluntarily bump up the region's non-attainment status from "moderate" to "serious," and noted that DAQ decided to withdraw the State Implementation Plan (SIP) rather than have EPA declare it invalid.

### 4. <u>Economic Stimulus Update</u>

#### Presenter: Robert Cook

#### Summary/ FYI:

Mr. Cook stated that at its January 21 meeting, the MPO directed staff to rank stimulus road projects prior to them being submitted by the January 27 deadline. He reported that that had been done and that MUMPO had submitted its stimulus list on time. Mr. Cook then noted that MUMPO would have to develop a project priority list for how to spend the \$18.5 million in STP-DA funds likely to be allocated to MUMPO. It was decided that this would be discussed at the February 11 Transportation Staff meeting. Julie Clark and Saxby Chaplin then discussed bicycle and pedestrian projects. Mr. Cook asked Ms. Clark, Mr. Chaplin and Mr. Tippette to determine if it is necessary to rank bicycle and pedestrian projects. Loretta Barren discussed the need for public involvement in advance of amending the TIP for any project. Mr. Cook stated that a public comment period would be starting and that a public meeting scheduled for February 26 for the UPWP, PIP and Candidate Projects List would also serve as an opportunity to hear public comment on the stimulus list.

### 5. NCDOT Project Deferrals

### Presenter: Jonathan Parker

### Summary / FYI:

Mr. Parker stated that work on several projects funded only for planning and environmental work was being halted. The projects were:

- o I-4750: I-77, from NC 73 to I-40
- o U-2704B: Billy Graham/Wilkinson Boulevard
- o U-3467: Rea Road Extension
- o U-4024: US 601 widening

### 6. Monroe Connector / Bypass Update

#### Presenter: Jennifer Harris

#### Summary / FYI:

Ms. Harris discussed the following:

- The DEIS has been submitted to the FHWA office in Atlanta
- No preferred alternative is included in the DEIS at this time
- Comments on the DEIS are due in March
- Public meetings are likely to be held in the spring
- The record of decision (ROD) is expected during the first quarter of 2010
- Opening date remains 2013

# 7. FY 2010 UPWP: TIP PL Supplement

Presenter: Robert Cook

Summary / FYI:

Mr. Cook reminded the TCC that MUMPO receives a Planning (PL) fund supplement in the TIP. He also noted that the standard annual PL allocation was the subject of rescission, resulting in a 10% reduction. Mr. Cook stated that he raised this issue due to the potential impact on the funding of the four requests to used PL funds to support locally-based transportation planning efforts (Cornelius, Davidson, Huntersville and Mint Hill).

8. <u>Adjourn:</u> The meeting was adjourned at 12:05 PM.